RSS

Ladies And Gentlemen Of The Jury…

02 Jul

confused conservative babyI present for your consideration; “The Case of the Confusled Conservative”

I am sure that many of you will remember Steve from our previous discussions. Steve has stopped by several times lately and has; with some encouragement; posed a couple of questions that could cause a less well armed opponent to tremble. I however am ready and willing to defy the laws of nature; try to make this poor guy see the light of “Social Democracy” and bring him into the fold. Of course the hardest thing is to convince the Conservative to have the surgery. Most of them figure; They’ve done without a heart for all these years; why get one now?

I decided to answer his question here on the front page; so to speak, because this is good shit. And because  “I just can’t drive 55.”

Steve’s first question is: Can you name one thing that this Presiden

t has done since being in office that has promoted MORE freedom and responsibility for we the American citizens and LESS control and regulation for the government?

Oh gee. I don’t know Steve. I suppose we had better try to reach an agreement about what freedom and responsibility are first.

Don’t worry Steve. I know you aren’t here now but I will go ahead and answer for you. I am sure you won’t object. After all. You have let the Right-Wing Fascists speak for you for a long time now. Let me try.

Freedom? And I guess we’re still working with the Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness concept.

The problem here Steve; is that you want freedom from the government. Freedom from regulation. Freedom from restrictions. Freedom to lie, cheat, and sell the nwo love your servitudepeople any snake oil product you choose; material or intellectual;  without fear of government sanction. Buyer Beware?

Freedom to pollute and destroy; poison and defoliate; kill and torture with no one to say what you do is wrong.

You see; what I and everyone I know wants is not to be free of government intervention.

We long to be free of corporate oppression. We long to be free of a life spent working to keep your head barely above water; or not.

We long to be free of an advertising industry that lies and deceives us; insults our intelligence; misleads and deliberately confuses us into spending more than we should for things we don’t need which are not of the quality or efficacy advertised. (this paragraph could easily be the beginning of a whole series of short articles.)

We long to be free of Theocratic Assholes who wish to enforce their particular brand of Phony Christianity on us.

We long to be free to practice any religion we choose and to make moral and personal decisions according to our personal relationship with God and or our conscience.

We long to free of your attempting again and again to make laws against thing that fully 50% or more of the people agree with? Clearly this is oppression.confused conserva elephant

As for more responsibility? I am as confused as you. I thought you didn’t want to be responsible. We support more responsibility; according to your ability to bear that responsibility. In short. You make more; you pay more. You remember that Steve.

You call it… THEFT; I believe.

Let me see if I remember the details.

confused conserva huh

You don’t think your seat on the train should cost more than mine just because you have more money and can afford more; AND; You are willing to let the train screech to a halt for lack of fuel to enforce that belief.

No; That’s not quite it; is it?

You don’t think your seat on the train should cost more just because you have more money and can afford more but you are willing to pay many times as much for your seat as long as I don’t get to ride at all.

Yeh; That’s more like it.

I guess we will never agree Steve but I think you may get my point now. Thank God you’ll never admit it.confused signpost

Hey folks; Wouldn’t it be a hoot if Steve turned out to be some old hippie like me just trying to pull my chain?

 

Tags: , , ,

18 responses to “Ladies And Gentlemen Of The Jury…

  1. eideard

    July 2, 2013 at 19:16

    Har.

     
  2. Steve

    July 2, 2013 at 21:36

    Wow, I don’t know where to start. So I’m the fascist? Who is it that wants the strong centrally controlled economy controlled by the government with a dictator? Me? Seriously? Better check your Funk and Wagnall’s brother cause it sure isn’t me that wants the government to control things.

    i do want less control by the government though as you say. i think I’m pretty capable of deciding for myself what kind of lightbulbs to use in my house, what kind of food I want to eat, how much salt I need on my french fries and how much water I need to flush my turds. Some of your constituents though probably need Washington to guide them. Listen to yourself, we are way too controlled by Washington.

    Do you really think I want dirty air and water? I bet I spend more time outdoors camping, fishing and hiking than you do. Because I think shutting down farming industries because some owl is found in a tree or some snail darter is present in the mud is stupid. Or spending 300 million dollars on a tunnel under a road for turtles to cross to the other side. If a corporation pollutes water or air or breaks the law, by all means throw the book at them and prosecute them to the fullest extent of the law. How about actually enforcing the laws we have instead of selling your vote for campaign contributions by your lobbyist. I’m a small businessman. I don’t have any lobbyist, but i do have to conform to all kinds of legal BS imposed on me by a runaway government buracracy that you have no idea about from where you sit. you obviously have absolutely no clue how free enterprise works. I wouldn’t be in business for very long if I screwed over my customers as you suggest businesses do. not true, you’re wrong.

    Responsibility? How is it being responsible when people choose to screw up their lives by the life decisions they make. You want me to be responsible for some schlep that decides he’d rather cut school, smoke dope, get his girlfriend pregnant and then expect me to pay for it. I chose to go to school, work hard, feed my family and play by the rules. you think I should be punished for this? Why? Why should I pay a higher rate of taxes than anybody else? Because I make more? Isn’t 30% of a million dollars more than 30% of ten thousand? But that’s not enough for you. You want to punish me for being productive. You should reward me! Who do you think provides all the jobs for people? Oh, that’s right, I forgot, in your world that would be the government, right? Don’t you realize that if the government is giving something, they must take it from someone else?

    To me freedom is being able to do for yourself what needs to be done because I am able first of all and I have prepared in advance to be equipped to do so.i don’t need some shyster politician in Washington to tell me how I should live my life, I am perfectly capable of choosing my own destiny and living with the consequences of my choices. What’s wrong with that? I have never in my life EVER shirked from my responsibility as a father, husband or neighbor that is in need. I don’t need my government to tell me what should be done, I do it because it’s the right thing to do.

    Mostly however I resent you demeaning Christians as if we are some kind of bane of society. i don’t know what kind of encounter you’ve had with those that profess to be Christians but you couldn’t be more wrong. i believe the Bible to be the Holy, innerant word of God and I live my life according to the principles professed by my Lord and savior, Jesus Christ. If that offends you some how, then I’m sorry but that isn’t likely to change until they close my coffin lid. I believe life is sacred, all life especially the unborn. I believe a woman has a right to do whatever she wants with her body but once she gets pregnant, she forfeits the right to destroy the life that is now in her. I find that morally wrong. I believe homosexuality is wrong, it’s a sin, no worse or better than any other sin. I’ve been taught to hate the sin but to love the sinner and point them to hope eternal in the spilt blood of Jesus Christ. If you choose to reject Him then that is your choice, you will answer for it not me. i would suggest asbestos lined underware for Christmas maybe.

    Please don’t tell me I’m a Republican, I’m not, I’m a Constitutional conservative. I just want to live my life the way I CHOOSE to without being held up by a bunch of lazy, rude miscreants that refuse to be responsible for themselves and the life choices they make for themselves. Contrary to popular belief, we aren’t all equal. Some of us are more equal than others. Is that the way it should be? Probably not but from where I sit that’s the way I see it. You seem to have a chip on your shoulder towards anyone that has more than you. Kind of like some five year old that just realized their brother has more chips in their cookie than they do. Big deal, get over it.

    By the way, you still didn’t answer the question. What has Mr. O done to promote MORE freedom?

     
    • Valentine Logar

      July 4, 2013 at 05:25

      Steve, I am hoping AngryMan allows me to answer you. I am also a business owner. I am also educated. The difference between us? I am a woman, I am not Christian and I am not a Conservative. I am however an Independent Constitutional Progressive. I want desperately to make a couple of points to you regarding your statement.

      1. You may believe anything you like. You may worship any way you like. In fact our Constitution guarantees this. What you may not do is attempt to force your beliefs on others through the legislative process. Our Constitution also guarantees my right to be free of your practices and beliefs. Our Constitutions assures me I am free to worship and practice my beliefs just as you are and that you will be free from me attempting to force you through legislation to accept my beliefs.

      2. I also believe all life is sacred, the minute that life draws breath. This is why I hate war. It is also why I don’t support the death penalty any longer. Abortion however is not your business, it is the business of the pregnant woman and her healthcare provider. It is sometimes the business of her partner. The right to choose is the right to say yes or no over decisions that affect the health and well-being of a woman. Your religious beliefs are entirely irrelevant to the decision. You do not have a medical degree and obviously do not have a clear understanding of biology.

      3. In your Bible you are directed to provide for those who have less than you. This is one of the key messages of G-d and your Jesus. It is in both the Old and New Testaments. Why is this not part of your understanding?

      4. Those born homosexual are born this way, it is not a choose they made. When did you choose to be heterosexual? How could this be a sin, what are you basing this on?

      5. There are reasons for government and reasons for taxes. Just as there was a purpose for the Temple and tithing. The serve the same purpose. I would suggest to you it would be a healthy reading experience for you if you would read through the three tithes to the temple and what they were used for.

      Finally, you are right we are not all equal however, we have two great documents one of which says we start that way. It seems you believe it is perfectly fine poverty is growing, children are going hungry, schools are failing and more and more people are without jobs. This isn’t the nation we should be ‘fine’ with.

       
      • angrymanspeaks

        July 4, 2013 at 13:49

        But of course I will let you reply. Please; Reply on; so to speak. One thing I did want to say is that I don’t think Steve is really uncaring about the less fortunate. He just wants to reserve the judgment as to who is deserving of his help. He believes that private charity should take care of the problem instead of government assistance. The problem is of course that we used to do things that way in America; before we learned that private citizens who claim to be willing to chip in; are never willing to chip in what is needed. Only what THEY think is appropriate. I have attempted to explain the impossibility of meeting the needs of all of our needy by voluntary donation. Let’s face it. Those who can help; often don’t. Enter; what?; what? The Government. That is correct. More than the money they bring through the ability to collect taxes but they bring a unique ability to co-ordinate nationwide. If the private sector came up with an organization dedicated to providing a decent life for all the less fortunate; and devoted sufficient resources to it’s perpetuity; we might be able to do away with government assistance. I never said the government would be the most efficient administrator of such help; merely that they are what no one else has ever been; sufficiently willing. They don’t do a good job but they are the only game in town. Want to save tax dollars Steve? YOU create such an organization. But remember; no condescending; no embarrassment. Those receiving must understand that what they get ; they get; because we love them and understand their situation. Because they are temporarily or permanently unable to care for their own needs. Sorry for interrupting. You can go back to flaying Steve now. he is a glutton for punishment as you can tell. Not a bad kind of guy though all in all. I like to think of Steve as a troubled guy. Hesitant to trust his fellow humans. Kind of gun shy; I think. Seen too much of the ugly and is a bit jaded perhaps. But man does he bring it. Always can be counted upon to get the discussion rolling; with passion. Anyway, have fun.

        On Thu, Jul 4, 2013 at 1:25 AM, angrymanspeaks

         
      • Steve

        July 5, 2013 at 00:38

        Valentine- thanks for the reply.
        1. I don’t want to legislate anything that isn’t spelled out in the COnstitution, that’s your side, not mine. You guys are the ones that want to force me to pay for your abortions, food supply, healthcare, cell phones, etc.
        2. I think abortion is wrong as apparently your mother did. Your rights end where someone else’s begin. There is a difference between 20 weeks and full term. Pulling a full term baby out a plunging a pair of scissors into its spinal cord is barbaric. Racist too. Lok up who the founder of Planned Parenthood was and what she advocated and why. Try Margaret Sanger, then get back to me.
        3. Charity is most certainly a part of my understanding. You have no idea about my charitable record. I would like to point out that the act of charity is VOLUNTARY. Anything else is theft.
        4. I was convinced I was a heterosexual the first time I saw how little Susie s blue jeans were fitting her. You may want to look up the story about Sodom and Ghomorra as to how God fels about the sin of homosexuality. That really doesn’t bother me anyways what two consenting adults want to do as long as they don’t adopt children or want to call their union a marriage because I think the very definition of marriage is a union between a man and a woman for the purpose of procreation. The government shouldn’t bethe one to decide this anyways
        5. Tithing and taxes are most certainly NOT the same thing. One is voluntary, one is compulsory. If you can’t figure out the difference tell the collector you aren’t going to do it and the one that is compulsory will set you tar aight very quickly
        6. My point about some more equal than others is we are not all going to rise to the top. I am not a Trump or a Rockefeller. We are all created equal and have the same opportunity to prosper. Some will, some wont. Some wont even try. If I work my self silly to achieve my dreams through hard work and sacrifice and Joe Schmo wants to sit on his rear and not even get out of bed, why do you want to punish my behavior and reward his? Please explain as I do not unrderstand the liberal position. Is this how you would train your own child! That hard work and personal responsibility is be shunned and lazy incompetence is to be emulated? free enterprise and capitalism rewards hard work and guarantees an opportunity to compete. You can’t regulate and guarantee results.

        Poverty is on the rise, schools are a mess and businesses are closing up for a reason. Have you figured out why? Do you even have the courage to ask yourself why or are you one of the ones that just want to blame it on republicans like angrymanspeaks? Make a list of all the problems you can think of. What is the one common denominator? It’s notbtheRepublicans, they’re only part of the problem……..GOVERNMENT!!!! We need to somehow get them to stop “helping” us. I’ve about had all the help I can take.

        Once again thanks for taking the time to reply. Steve

         
    • Valentine Logar

      July 9, 2013 at 03:02

      Steve –

      You are clearly not well versed in your Bible, were you so you would know the following.

      1) Tithing was not voluntary. It was well defined and mandatory. Each family was commanded by the temple and G-d as to what their portion was from their fields, from their wealth, from their livestock or anything else they had. The tithes were clearly defined and there were no loopholes. The temple used the tithes to care for the poor, to educate all the children, to provide for the infrastructure and the defense of the city. I would suggest to you, read the books of laws (first 5 books of the Bible) it is all there.

      2) Next Sodom and Gommora had not one single thing to do with homosexuality. Again I would suggest to you, read the book you profess to follow. The story has to do with righteousness and the treatment of strangers. Throughout both the Old and New Testament G-d commands strangers to be treated with hospitality and kindness. To be fed, provided with shelter and treated with as ‘friend’. This did not happen to the Angels who were sent to the cities that had fallen to cheating and lying in their trade, who had fallen to unrighteousness. The Angels had been sent to find one righteous man, only one. Nothing to do with Homosexuality at all. Read the book.

      3) Finally to the issue of abortion. You are not a human biologist, a medical provider and certainly not a woman. You have not a single clue as to the issues women face nor obviously the human reproductive cycle. It would behoove you to educate yourself on these issues. My mother did not think abortion was wrong, careful where you step on this one my mother was 15 when she had me in the 50’s, she was given no other choice I was ripped from her arms, she wasn’t given a choice about that either. You should never make assumptions about people Steve. Many women have stories, some of them are horrific. Stories of back alley abortions. Stories of rape. Stories of forced births. Stories of abuse so terrible, you as a man couldn’t even come close to yet you as a man sit on your high horse and pronounce judgment as if you have the higher ground. You do not. Not based on your religion and certainly not based on what dangles between your legs.

      So what you are saying Steve your sexual orientation is not a choice? Well good for you, so what makes you think anyone elses is? Why are you special? Marriage is not holy! It is and has always been nothing more than a legal contract, historically speaking it was generally the trading of daughters for land, gold or other items of value. Nothing more or less. Now, it is a legal contract in which two parties agree to share their worldly goods, make a home and raise children. What difference if those two people are of the same gender? How does this change anything, how does this in any way threaten your marriage or your family? Don’t be ridiculous. Children need loving homes where they can be provided for. If gay married couples want to provide these homes, what possible difference does it make other than your religious sensibilities are offended? Remember though, you don’t get to push those on others they are yours and yours alone, the rest of us don’t care.

      To answer your question, unrestrained capitalism does not work. History tells us this is true. One only has to look at this nation just prior to the first great depression to prove this. One only has to look at our current situation to prove this is the case. Capitalisim without reasonable restraint is not an efficient social or economic model. In order for all people within society to have a fair shot at successful outcomes there must be equitable distribution of opportunity (education, infrastructure and jobs). When you undermine the restraints a couple of things happen, poverty grows and opportunity shrinks. People like you look around and blame those with the least for the state of the union. You blame them for their need and you blame them for the lack of ability to lift themselves out of their situation. You fail however to see beyond your bubble into four generations of increasing poverty, increasingly bad schools, increasingly worse neighborhoods, less healthcare, a ‘war on drugs’ that has filled our prisons and broken families, increasing violence..and the list goes on.

      No Steve, I am entirely aware of why. I know full well what is happening in this nation. I wonder though while you are lifting your gun in the air and screaming for less government, do you really know what the last 40 years has brought this nation?

       
      • Steve

        July 22, 2013 at 18:13

        Valentine- Once again thanks for your reply. I missed your second reply back as I was on vacation. (On my yacht, cruising the French Riviera and eating bon-bons)LOL this is probably pointless as I can see you are a different persuasion than me but let me try.

        1) Tithing is required in the aspect that God expects us to give of the first tenth to Him as He blesses us. Nowhere that I could find in scripture does it say that if you don’t give a tenth will the powers that be, meaning either the “church” or government will they confiscate it from you. The US Government certainly will and has. That is not voluntary.

        2) God most certainly destroyed Sodom and Gomohrra because of their homosexuality. You might want to reread “the Book”. Try Genesis 18 and 19. It’s pretty clear. Or New Testament if you prefer. Romans 1;18-32. Once again, pretty clear. Don’t argue with me, argue with God when you meet Him.

        3)your Mom wasn’t Pro-Life? Sucks to be you, I guess she regrets having you? The alternative was better? I’m not going to convince you that abortion is murder, I know. You listed a bunch of reasons for abortion, how many of them are the real reason for having one? Most abortions are performed because Momma made a mistake and got pregnant from unprotected sex. I think that’s wrong. Sorry, just my opinion. Once again you can take that up with God when you meet Him.

        4) i don’t know what kind of marriage you have or had. I’m not judging you. My marriage is Holy. I took a vow before God to honor and take care of my wife 35 years ago. I don’t give my word lightly, especially before God. I didn’t pay my in-laws a bride price of gold or silver, I’ve never hit her or mistreated her. My mission in life is to make her happy. We had five children after we got married. I have two grandchildren. I would give my life to protect any of them. I can’t speak for you or anybody else. I am not a biologist but I have spent time on a farm and I am quite sure that two same gendered of a species can not procreate. If they can then I missed something. One man and one woman in a nuclear family is the BEST way for children to grow and prosper in. If you put them in a family setting of two men or two women you will screw them up for life. I didn’t say they can’t love them I said it isn’t best for the child.

        5) capitalism isn’t perfect but it is the best. It worked in this country for over 200 years and produced more wealth, innovation and opportunity than 5000 years of human struggle. You refer to the last four generations of problems? In that you are correct. What common denominator do you see? GOVERNMENT!!! Since LBJ’s “Great Society Program” instituted back in the 60’s, we have spent more money in more ways through the government and gotten exactly the results you are now complaining about. If money and government programs were the answer, we would have whipped all these problems years ago. Government is not the solution…GOVERNMENT IS THE PROBLEM!!!! What has the government done that has worked? HMMN?

         
      • angrymanspeaks

        July 23, 2013 at 01:43

        Hey Steve, “Once again you can take that up with God when you meet Him.” This is all we have ever asked for. The right to take this up with God when we meet him. Why do feel that your opinion gives you the right to force me to act according to your opinion? Allow me to take it up with God. We agree to disagree. I want to have an abortion; you think it’s a bad idea. Why should you use a law that affects everyone to force any particular choice in what is clearly a moral belief. One that not everyone agrees about. Not just why but how can you feel justified? Allowing abortion to be legally performed for those who wish it, is not the same as agreeing that abortion is good or OK or right or moral. Alllowing abortion just lets each of us; “Take it up with God”

         
  3. Steve

    July 2, 2013 at 21:45

    I’m sure this gives you enough to denigrate me further. I don’t mind. I know what I believe and why. you sure like to paint things black and white with a broad brush. I don’t know where you get this notion that ALL conservatives are what you make us out to be. I know I’m not. I just want to enjoy my life and to be left alone.

     
  4. Jueseppi B.

    July 2, 2013 at 22:54

    Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat.Com™ and commented:
    More Truth, Facts, Common Sense, Logic & Critical Thinking from AngryManSpeaks.

     
  5. cadesertvoice

    July 3, 2013 at 18:12

    Excellent lesson, Mr. AngryManSpeaks. Directly on point! Sharing all over the place.

     
    • angrymanspeaks

      July 4, 2013 at 04:37

      Thank you. I am honored.

      On Wed, Jul 3, 2013 at 2:12 PM, angrymanspeaks

       
  6. Martin

    July 3, 2013 at 18:50

    Reblogged this on 4:20 Smokers Blog.

     
  7. Steve

    July 5, 2013 at 00:07

    Thank you for all the responses. I think I may come on a little strong sometimes but again let me try to clear up a couple of misunderstandings. I am a Christian. As I’ve said, I think abortion is wrong. I believe life begins at conception. I completely understand your position, I just don’t agree with it. You can choose whatever you want as long as you accept the consequences of it. I think sucking a baby out of any woman’s womb, especially when it is viable, by your definition up until it takes its first breath is barbaric. I think being” born” homosexual is very rare and for the most part a learned or taught behavior. I know you disagree, okay, but why is my opinion so vile? I don’t care if two people of the same sex want to live together, go ahead, just don’t call it a marriage because that is between a man and a woman. Should they have the same property and visitation rights as any other Americans? Yes, I think they should. I just think the biology dictates that in order to procreate humans need an egg and a sperm.that is the normal way things work. Children are best served by a man and a woan in a family setting. That is what is best for a child.
    As far as charity goes, I do get it. I know there are lots of my fellow Ameicans that have serious needs. However, in my opinion that is NOT what is happening in our country at this time. a vast majority, and yes I do mean majority of my fellow citizens that are getting government money are systematically milking the system. If you can’t se that then you are either blind or just plain stupid. Sorry, but I see it first hand every single day. What is going on now is a governmental system of taking from one group of Americans and giving to another. I know that is fine for some of you, I get it, but it isn’t for me. I was taught that taking something that isn’t mine is theft. When my government is doing it at the point of a gun it is tyranny. You do not have a right to take what I’ve eared and give it to someone else. If I CHOOSE to do it, that is charity, a tithe is charity. What is going now is nothing more than theft, and that is wrong.
    Education? Talk about enslavement and tyranny. How is what is going on in our inner cities to millions of black children anything less than flat out enslavement. All you leftist s worship at the feet of all these unions, especially the teachers union and force this kids to go to these worthless schools where most of them can’t even read and write let alone be educated enough to get a good paying job and move out of the cities and have a chance at something better. You guysvwantthem stupid and dependent on government program after government program so they keep pulling that DEmocrat lever. You tell me I’m the racist? How much more a slave can a person be than having to rely on the government for the provisions to even feed yourself. Like I’ve said before, a hand up is way different than a hand out. I would much rather teach a man to fish himself so he can respect himself rather than making him have to wake each day and beg me to feed him.
    Also, I don’t want to impose my will on you anymore than I want you to put yours on me. I don’t understand how you can think I am the one taking away your freedoms. More the other way around. You guys are the ones in power pushing all this hopes change crap. Change to what? Some even larger many state where the government gives and takes away? I would much rather live free with my “outdated” Constitution.

     
    • Steve

      July 7, 2013 at 01:20

      By the way…..How did you get my baby picture?

       
      • angrymanspeaks

        July 8, 2013 at 02:49

        I know; right? I have this friend over at the NSA and…

        On Sat, Jul 6, 2013 at 9:21 PM, angrymanspeaks

         
  8. Valentine Logar

    July 22, 2013 at 23:59

    Steve – interesting reply thank you. We will have to agree to disagree as you clearly did not even bother to read parts of my response to you. Such as the part where I told you I was born in the 50’s, my mother was 15 years old. At that time, there was no access to birth control and no education about safe sex (similar to nearly all the Red States with high teen birth rates today). She gave birth to me alone, in a hospital with no support from family or friends. She never saw me, not once. My birth was physically and emotionally traumatic. She was told she would likely never have another child.

    How do I know this story? I met my birth mother when I was 25 years old, that was 31 years ago. Is she pro-choice? Yes, she is. Did she regret having me? Yes, on many levels she did. Having me affected her and my birth father’s lives, in many ways. This doesn’t mean she isn’t glad I am alive and in her life today, it simply means her life would have been far different had she not had me.

    As to your belief the Bible you read is a correct translation of the Talmud, it is not. You read an English language version that is not aligned with the original books of law, which makes no mention of fornication, homosexuality or carnal knowledge by the towns people of the Angels. You also do not have the Jewish interpretations of the Law as expressed in Torah consisting of Mishnah and Gemara. I would suggest Strongs Markup (KJV) which provides a good Aramaic dictionary, nice place to start for those who are interested in real study.

    As to the Temple / Government and taxes / Tithes I would suggest you do some further reading. I am going to make it simple, these are some of my personal favorites especially since they mix the value of human beings, the death sentence and G-D’s penalties if you want to buy back your property so you don’t starve in the coming year.

    Leviticus 27 (values and redeeming your property)
    Deuteronomy 14:22 – 26 (not just 1/10 but all your profits)
    Deuteronomy 14:27 – 29 (lest we forget, you will also feed the Levite / stranger, the orphan and widow)

    Your marriage is holy. I am impressed, I do not say this with any sarcasm. My marriage is happy, I hope yours is as well. With 35 years under your belt I am going to assume that it is. My marriage is also. Nonetheless, we do not all practice Christianity or believe as you believe. It is not required of us and it does not guarantee happy or long-lasting marriages, divorce statistics prove this. Studies also do not agree with you on the need for a man and woman to raise successful children. The simple fact is, you are incorrect on this. You can and obviously do beat your chest on the idea of a nuclear family with a female mommy and a male daddy all you like, your chest beating is based on emotion and religion, it is incorrect it is not backed up by factual studies done by pragmatic social scientists.

    I did not say Capitalism is bad Steve, I said unrestrained Capitalism is bad. We have evidence of this. We have multiple financial failures now, they only happen when restraints are lifted.

     
  9. Steve

    July 23, 2013 at 01:00

    valentine-first off we are no longer under the need for the Old Testament Laws as Jesus Christ came and freed us from observing them, at least as long as from The Christian point of view. I’m guessing you are Jewish and able to read Hebrew and Aramaic?

    Am still glad your mother chose life for you, it must have been a very difficult decision for her. believe it or not, I get it. I just believe ALL Life is precious and God given and I think all too often abortions are done for convenience as a method of birth control. I believe it’s wrong. I think what is even more wrong is for someone to make a life choice and then instead of taking responsibility for their poor choice they demand I pay for something I find morally repugnant. we have high teen pregnancy rates because for years we have taught our children that there are no penalties for our poor choices. Life is better if teens finish school, get married and have babies. Admittedly that is not the only way but it is undeniably the best way just like children raised in a home with a mother and father. If you don’t think that’s true, I would truly love to se your sources. Take for example the black culture. Over 70% of black children are born without a father being in the home. How’s that working for them? Just a coincidence or is it because of racist white people like me keeping them down? When I go into the city are there bars and chains on the stores and windows to keep the white people out from creating criminal acts?

    what is restrained capitalism? Is that like where the government picks winners and losers according to how much money is put into the pockets of politicians and labor unions? You know like Obamacare, social Security, Medicaid, EPA, IRS,etc where businesses are free to transact business? That isn’t happening anymore. capitalism can only work if the government is NOT part of the economy. What part of the Constitution gives the government the power to control the economy? The economy goes away every time the government gets involved. Are you so blind you can’t see that?

    Thanks for the discussion. Steve

     

Leave a Reply

 
thejumbledmind

Some political ramblings...and other jumbledness

From Where I Sit

Thoughts from an old Southern guy

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Undaunted Democrat

Politics Taken seriously

Paul Militaru

Photography Portfolio

The Fifth Column

"News and views from around the world"

Annals of Immaturity

Tales of My Confusion Regarding What it Means to be an Adult

Liberated Way

Action in harmony with nature

Zeebra Designs & Destinations

An Artist's Eyes Never Rest

GetRealWithDarylandDeVon@.Wordpress.Com

Issues of politics, race, and everything else.

mykeystrokes.com

"Do or Do not. There is no try."

A Little Tour in Yellow

A Premise Salesman with Some Things on His Mind

List of X

This Blog Is Not Recommended By WordPress

History Of The Ancient World

Look back over the past, with its changing empires that rose and fell,and you can foresee the future too -Marcus Aurelius-

World Of Alexander The Great

"Everything is possible to him who will try"

Ask Old Jules

the Hermit in the Hill Country

somkritya

"in nonsense is strength"

The Sieve of Truth

Sieving the credible from the incredible

As My World Turns

What's New and Has My Attention

Bell Book Candle

Politics and poetry

♥ The Tale Of My Heart ♥

In your light, I learn how to love. In your beauty, how to make poems. You dance inside my chest, where no one sees you.

So Far From Heaven

Too many reincarnations in a single lifetime to trust this one.

Rumpydog

Dog paddling through life...

