RSS

Shit Storm Hits The Deep South. Paula Deen Missing

23 Jun
Paula At Home

Paula At Home

…and when Paula awoke; she looked around and in a quavery voice she said to her little dog, “Toto. I don’t think we’re on the plantation anymore”.

No Paula and there won’t be any young, black stable boys with lanterns to light your path at night and you can’t ask the first black man you see to fetch you a Mint Julep. This ain’t “Tara” and you are certainly no Scarlett O’Hara.

Paula's staff in their new uniforms

Paula’s staff in their new uniforms

These days if you want your cotton picked, I guess you buy a machine or pick it your damned self. Actually; cotton hasn’t been king for a long time now and your privilege of calling anybody N—— was revoked morally in 1865 if not before. Before that I would have called you just stupid. After that; Racist.

The sad thing is Ms. Paula Dean; That I understand you. I can even identify with you to a point.

I too grew up among those to whom racism was…like the air that they breathed. They never thought of themselves as racist. Just white.

Most natural thing in the world for a white man to hate a black man or visa versa.

But I grew up. When I was a child, I spoke as a child and I acted as a child.

When I became an adult, I saw that what I thought was natural, was divisive.

What I had learned was “The way it is”  turned out to be the way it was designed to be; to the detriment of an entire race (actually several races) of people. My own included because racism destroys the hated; and the haters; but far more surly the haters.

paula mouth eyesRacism and hatred of any kind is like a cancer eating at you from the center of your being.

But I know that when this first becomes visible (not clear) to you; you see it but you don’t really understand all the implications of what you are seeing.

So; you get people who say, “I’m no racist” but make racist jokes and continue to proliferate the stereotypes.

Been there Paula. But I grew up.

Could be you would even be surprised to hear yourself described as racist. I notice you keep insisting that your family aren’t bad people; just after admitting it is as natural as whipping your slaves to use the word N——.

That’s how we think before we grow up. We don’t want to be bad or thought of as bad or racist but we aren’t ready to do the work it takes to make that true. And it is work. Don’t let anyone tell you that you will change overnight. As with studying the Bible; the light gets brighter as we continue in the right path.

First you see no harm in the jokes.

Then you realize that some people are hurt by them. (that’s not good)

Then you come to understand that those “just jokes” are perpetuating racism but they are so much a part of the world around you; you don’t know how to stop even though you think it would be best.

You can spend a lot of time at this level of behavior. I did. Many do. At some point though; you realize that no one is really laughing anymore. Mostly; racist and ethnic humor is for the purpose of seeming racist. Of racist apes showing their hairy white asses.

At some point; you realize that there is nothing funny in degrading another person. Black; White; Christian; Moslem; Jew.

There are a lot of funny things about America. There are a lot of things that are funny because of a specific tradition or speech pattern or manner of dress of the multiplicity of races and nationalities and dialects and regional differences of the people of America but there is nothing that is funny if it hurts someone’s feelings or erodes their sense of belonging.

Humor comes from Love and Respect. Never hate.                                             When it comes from hate and disrespect; it’s called Derision.

So Paula, I don’t know if I have read you correctly or if you are really just another card-carrying hater trying to protect her lucrative income but if you can; I say; grow up Paula.

It’s not your repulsive, grease dripping food that we can’t take. That’s a choice you have a right to make.

Well Butter My Breasts

Well Butter My Breasts

Humiliating and degrading people based on their ethnicity; that’s not a choice you have the right to make.

While we’re at it; look people in the eyes Paula; even if they are black. Try it and you will find more familiar there than unfamiliar.

Ask a black man how he feels about his new daughter Paula.

Ask him how it feels when you are denied something because of your skin color or more to the point; ask how it feels to be denied something because the person distributing it won’t look you in the eyes; would rather avoid you than get to know you; refuses to see the person you are; would rather accept the stereotype; won’t stand up for what he knows is right; is godamned lazy to make the effort to evaluate you for who you are and how you love rather than the amount of Melanin in your skin.

Fuck it Paula. Just get real or get the fuck out of here.

 
25 Comments

Posted by on June 23, 2013 in angryman, Paula Deen, Racism

 

Tags: , , ,

25 responses to “Shit Storm Hits The Deep South. Paula Deen Missing

  1. Jueseppi B.

    June 23, 2013 at 17:20

    Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat.Com™ and commented:
    I had decided enough of Ms. Paula Deen. Then AngryManSpeaks woke up from a long winter night’s sleep and did his usual brilliant blog, so I am reblogging one last post on the south’s newest racist caucasian. May Ms. Deen reconsider her racist ways and come to the “Black” side. Let MY People Go.

     
  2. shelley1laysi

    June 23, 2013 at 17:30

    I must say Profoundly stated with such clarity, I feel you!

     
  3. Coco

    June 23, 2013 at 17:40

    Paula Deen is just a pawn. Racism sucks and Paula’s getting dragged across the coals publicly for it.

    Paula’s not the first restaurant owner or celebrity or public person to behave despicably. Her specific words, actions, and attitude are a blur amidst the shit pile of racism in this country. Look at some of our ignorant politicians and their racism- they should be getting flogged if Paula is.

    Shoot, people are acting like Paula’s some kind of freak of nature for being a racist, when she’s just one amongst the many. Paula Deen is not the last racist to be caught and throwing the book at her is not going to make it all go away.

     
    • angrymanspeaks

      June 23, 2013 at 22:31

      You are correct of course in saying that Paula is not alone and that all of the people who think like her deserve the same ridicule; BUT; I don’t believe we should refrain from speaking out against Paula. Paula is like the tip of the ice berg. It’s a very small part of the bigger problem lying just beneath the surface. Like an ice berg; if we choose to attack the bigger problem we must start with the part that can be seen. The hope is that if we stand up and call FOUL! when we do see hatred; we make clear that we do not accept the premise that hatred is a natural thing for us to feel or act upon. We hope that by striking out at those who make themselves visible; we we will also affect all of those we don’t see. Not just here on-line but in our personal life as well. If you want it; if you believe; be brave and take a stand. Publically; privately; with relentless lust for truth and justice and freedom and yes; love too. We can’t allow Paula to get by. If we do; it will be seen as weakness by the culture of hate. It will be seen as acceptable behavior by the young and impressionable.

       
      • Coco

        June 24, 2013 at 00:04

        Well, you’re right. I saw her apology and was struck by her sitting in what looked like an interrogation room, obviously cleaned up by her PR department only as much as they could manage, and looking genuinely contrite and kind of like she’s had the be-Jesus scared out of her. When she spoke, it was as though she was still trying to figure out what all went wrong. I don’t know that she was even trying to hide her racism when she got “caught.” I think she is just now trying to understand how she it is that she is racist.

        Given that she’s only the tip of the iceberg, wouldn’t it be absolutely something if some of our ignorant elected officials who say things like this all the time without any accountability, could get the same treatment and career-damaging publicity? It’s only fair.

         
      • angrymanspeaks

        June 24, 2013 at 00:56

        It is only fair and I hope you never catch me letting them slide.

         
  4. Jackie Saulmon Ramirez

    June 23, 2013 at 17:49

    Bravo! I could not have put it any better than this. Deen and Bubba both need to stand up and kiss their behinds, “Good-bye y’all!”

     
  5. Dr. Rex

    June 23, 2013 at 17:53

    Very well done!!! Re-blogging!! These days are supposed to be long gone. However, they always have the ability to pop up when you least expect it. Then the proverbial excrement hits the fan!! Sorry …. Ms. D …. you did this to yourself … do we see another empire crumbling?

     
  6. Dr. Rex

    June 23, 2013 at 17:54

    Reblogged this on It Is What It Is and commented:
    The proverbial excrement hits the fan .. again!! Sorry …. Ms. D …. you did this to yourself … do we see another empire crumbling?

     
  7. rwyckoff

    June 23, 2013 at 18:53

    I think there is a great deal of truth in what you say, and it is a good thing and admirable that you have moved beyond the thoughtless racism of your childhood and upbringing. But I also think that your message is marred by vulgar language and an angry and accusatory tone.

     
    • Dr. Rex

      June 23, 2013 at 20:23

      With all due respect, disagree …. she dished it out, she should be able to take it!!!

       
    • angrymanspeaks

      June 24, 2013 at 00:53

      Sorry if my language offends you. If you read my blog, you will find that I have a posted disclaimer warning of the possibility of this happening. I find that denying myself the use of the entire English language limits my ability to express the extremes of my emotions. I understand the puritan ethic concerning language and won’t ask you to use any words you do not choose to. If you decide to keep reading my work, I fear you will read more of the same. I don’t use profanity for the sake of shocking or every other sentence but when it feels right; it feels right. Nothing personal against you. You may be totally sincere but I find that usually; people who complain about your language; are being insincere so as to seem “holier than thou”. I know that there is a segment of society who we can refer to as “polite society”. Church-going Americans who don’t speak of sex or going to the toilet or blood or other “distasteful” things in public; or in mixed company. I grew up a part of that segment. The problem is that most of those people DO use that language when no one is watching or listening. Not all but most. I dislike pretense. Do it or don’t but be proud of what you choose either way. It also seems that so many of those who claim not to behave in such impolite ways are of above average income and feel that it makes them seem less common; a cut above the struggling rabble. More pretense I fear. So there you go. I shall continue to speak plainly and I hope you won’t let that stop you reading my thoughts. Personally, I don’t find words objectionable. it’s the concepts and actions that they convey that are so repugnant to me. Most are quite approved of for “polite conversation”; among adults; of the same sex at least. Words like torture, female circumcision, war; famine; suicide bombing; disease; dying for a god; dying for a nation whose actions are criminal at best. Words like those offend me or the ideas they convey. Neither the word Fuck nor the concept it conveys are distasteful to me or most people who are honest. Most of us like the word and the concept. Many find the word itself titillating. Many of us feel sincerely that it is probably the most versatile word in the language. In the book entitled “The Rape Of The Ape” (American Puritan Ethic); the author wrote a chapter called “Short chapter; Long footnote” The chapter; one word; Fuck. The footnote went on for some twenty pages or more listing the various uses and meanings and shades thereof for the word. As I say; nothing personal.

       
      • Dr. Rex

        June 25, 2013 at 02:57

        Very well said ….. that’s what is needed in this situation. No insult taken. Keep up the great work!! 🙂

         
  8. cadesertvoice

    June 25, 2013 at 02:01

    Reblogged this on cadesertvoice and commented:
    I know this is a dead serious subject, but I laughed so hard reading this. The pictures are hilarious too. All fun aside, Mr. AngryMan is absolutely right: Paula Deen needs to wake up to her racism. And the rest of us need to stop racism when we see it. This disease continues to destroy this nation.

     
  9. Tanveer Rauf

    June 25, 2013 at 04:21

    very well written

     
  10. Steve

    June 25, 2013 at 20:23

    Glad to see you back at and full of vitriol against all those you disagree with. i just wanted to make sure I understand that by using the dreaded ‘N’ word is an indication of a person’s racism? is that right or only an indication of white people’s racism? You libs are so predictable in your supposed outrage. You crucify this woman without even researching the context of when and where this supposed racial epitaph occurred and give the likes of Chris Rock, Harry Reid, Jesse Jackson, Rev Wright, your own President and even fellow blogger Guiseppe whoever he is a complete pass on far worse instances but not a peep about racism on their parts. You’re pathetic. At least be consistent. Go ahead and write how much of a racist I must be too.

    Good to have you back. It’s great to read something from the left that I can disagree with. Maybe you can answer me a question that I’ve asked those of the left hand persuasion. can you name one thing that this President has done since being in office that has promoted MORE freedom and responsibility for we the American citizens and LESS control and regulation for the government? I couldn’t think of any. I look forward to your reply. Steve

     
    • angrymanspeaks

      June 26, 2013 at 02:09

      I am going to pass on the question for now. The answer is long and if I don’t fall down a well or get kidnapped by some of your right-wing cronies who probably live; quaking in fear of my next flailing attack; I will be covering that answer in my next few pieces. I don’t mean to sound lame but time is at a premium when you get to my point in life.

      I do want to say that I’m not buying it Steve. I just can’t get all worked up and indignant like you hoped I would. I just don’t believe that you really meant what you said about dear Paula. You know that context isn’t going to change one iota of meaning, or responsibility in this case. Paula already tried that one when she was interviewed.

      “Ah bileeeeve Ah mot have used the word Neeeger when I was tillin’ mah’ husband about be-un’ raubbed at gunpoint”

      The image she has now created for herself now is one that America will not soon forget. She has nostalgically conjured images of a time long past. A time which; if we could overlook the vast amount of human suffering brought on by the system called slavery; created quite the picture of gentility and polite society; men of honor and the pageantry of life on the plantation. But how do you overlook the overwhelming weight of the torture, humiliation, and degradation of an entire class of people. You don’t Steve. But you know this. You also know that while I can be baited; it does take a nice piece of fresh meat to get me. Not an old dusty tasteless piece like “You crucify this woman without even researching the context of when and where this supposed racial epitaph occurred” Please. And Jessie Jackson? I am not a big fan of Jessie Jackson. In my humble opinion, Jessie was never a sincere man and he never really cared about anything but self aggrandizement. Not a true son of Dr. King’s dream or legacy. (In my humble; and admittedly white opinion) As for my friend Juesseppi; he tells the truth. You may not like it, I often don’t. I am often angered and saddened by the things he says. And I love this guy. It’s the position he is in. He speaks about white people in some pretty vicious ways. But considering that about 50% of the nation is Republican; so; racist by nature. The other fifty percent is made of people with a variety of levels of tolerance and/or commitment to the cause of equality. He knows that not everyone is racist but he also knows; as I do; that many more people are racist in their behavior, than will admit or even believe they are racist. You know Steve. Like that person you know who loves intimate interpersonal interactions of a physical nature and engages in them regularly; but who will sputter and stumble and indignantly deny it if you say they like to “fuck”. It’s just like when I say all Republicans are racist. Everyone knows that there is probably at least one mixed up republican guy out there who didn’t get the racist memo but the numbers are sufficient to justify the generalization. I really don’t know if you are racist or not Steve and I really don’t go around making unfounded accusations about people. You might be but I don’t think you have convinced me of that yet. As I say I can be baited but…

       
  11. Steve

    June 26, 2013 at 10:57

    You don’t make unfounded accusations? You just did by saying all Republicans are racist. My point was that in your world view only white people and Republicans are racist because you see them as evil. Because of your hatred for them you take every opportunity to castigate and demean them.

    I don’t know if Paula Deen is a racist or not and neither do you. To be quite frank, I could care less. In my option there are far more important race issues at hand such as the apparent attempt to destroy our nation by legalizing of 30 million criminals. That may be the dumbest thing ever proposed since when? Obamacare maybe. I guess being against both those things prove I am a racist too, huh?

    There isn’t a person alive that at one time or another in their life that hasn’t said or done something stupid that they regret. You included. We have become a nation of whimpering sissies that get offended over everything. Life is tough out here, get over it and get going or go home

     
  12. SomerEmpress

    July 11, 2013 at 03:22

    “But I grew up. When I was a child, I spoke as a child and I acted as a child.” No truer words spoken. In fact, we lived by them growing up in my grandmother’s household. She knew better. Her use of the N-word was one thing – it in itself isn’t what makes her a racist; her portrayal and throwback to a time when Black folks had to serve her was quite another and even more disconcerting. The latter points to a much more entrenched and insipid behavior and pattern of thinking toward Black folks and what she thinks their place should be in her world.

     
    • Dr. Rex

      July 11, 2013 at 13:24

      Agree!!! To me there’s no excuse whatsoever for the way that she has or had acted. There’s now way that one race or ethnic group is better than another. Particularly, with the long history of the African American plight!!! Well said ….

       
    • angrymanspeaks

      July 11, 2013 at 14:37

      That must have been difficult for you as you grew and understood her. My grandmother was 84 in 1973 when she died. She was raised in a very Victorian home and though I don’t think she ever hated anyone; I don’t think it ever occurred to her that there was a problem with how black people were treated either. It is so hard to explain this woman. It’s almost as if she couldn’t exist today. I don’t think it ever occurred to her that people would need to better their circumstances. I think she saw black people much like the old movies showing the happy slaves dancing and singing their way through life; glad to have work to fill the time.
      I don’t know. The whole idea of slavery, racism etc. is so outrageous it’s hard to believe it was the real state of affairs and hard to believe some of it still is; until you wake up and look around.
      FLASHBACK: I just remembered her telling the story of how a black man near them went after his wife with a knife. She told how my grandfather had either been called to help or some such thing but anyway; he went over there and just told that man to settle himself down; and you know; because all the black folks around those parts had such a great respect for Mr. Gilbert (my gf) he listened and everything was alright.
      Now haven’t I heard such stories before? The childlike black man getting himself in trouble because of his inability to control his baser instincts and the calm, white parental figure (always well loved, I might add) stepping in and saying “Whoa now Samuel. You just calm yourself down. How do you think Mama Grande going to feel about you killing your wife?”
      Oh my god; I guess that pretty much clears up my Grandmother; huh?

      You know; I have some family and friends who read me and they often ask why I write so much about racism and such.
      As if I should ignore it like so many do.
      I try to explain but they don’t get it. I try to make them see that although I write about many different subjects; racism being a very important one.
      When I began to write this blog; I never intended to become an “Anti-racist writer”. As I read and grew it occurred to me that racism is the one biggest problems we face today. Perhaps the biggest one. It divides us like nothing else. It prevents us from finding each other in this maze and helping us both to succeed. In consequence; we both fail; reliably and miserably.
      I am beginning to see what the early abolitionist preachers saw when they saw slavery and what it did to the slave and the master.

      I seriously doubt that most Americans at least; really understand what racism does to us as individuals; as a society; and as a world.
      Well I’ve gone on so long; my throat is sore. Great photos on your profile by-the-way.
      I love the one with the hood because it always reminds me of everything mysterious and secretive.
      I like the others because you can actually see what you look like. I hate having to imagine to whom I am speaking but I understand some are hesitant to expose themselves to scrutiny or possible victimization. Ok so I’m outa’ heah’.

       
  13. angrymanspeaks

    July 11, 2013 at 14:41

    I just re-read my comment. Sorry; I just woke up but I think you’ll get the point. I said my grandfather listened and everything was alright. I intended to type that he talked to the man and settled him down. Mornings are magical.

     
  14. SomerEmpress

    July 11, 2013 at 18:43

    No worries. I understand. Thanks for the compliment. Also, by “she” and “her use” in my original comment, I was referring to Paula. My grandmother, on the other hand, would have backhanded Paula on arrival if she was ever in her presence when those words were spoken!

     
  15. SomerEmpress

    July 11, 2013 at 18:44

    P.S. Thinking of going back to the picture with the hood – less of a glam shot. Thank you!

     

Leave a Reply

 
thejumbledmind

Some political ramblings...and other jumbledness

From Where I Sit

Thoughts from an old Southern guy

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

The Undaunted Democrat

Politics Taken seriously

Paul Militaru

Photography Portfolio

The Fifth Column

"News and views from around the world"

Annals of Immaturity

Tales of My Confusion Regarding What it Means to be an Adult

Liberated Way

Action in harmony with nature

Zeebra Designs & Destinations

An Artist's Eyes Never Rest

GetRealWithDarylandDeVon@.Wordpress.Com

Issues of politics, race, and everything else.

mykeystrokes.com

"Do or Do not. There is no try."

A Little Tour in Yellow

A Premise Salesman with Some Things on His Mind

List of X

This Blog Is Not Recommended By WordPress

History Of The Ancient World

Look back over the past, with its changing empires that rose and fell,and you can foresee the future too -Marcus Aurelius-

World Of Alexander The Great

"Everything is possible to him who will try"

Ask Old Jules

the Hermit in the Hill Country

somkritya

"in nonsense is strength"

The Sieve of Truth

Sieving the credible from the incredible

As My World Turns

What's New and Has My Attention

Bell Book Candle

Politics and poetry

♥ The Tale Of My Heart ♥

In your light, I learn how to love. In your beauty, how to make poems. You dance inside my chest, where no one sees you.

So Far From Heaven

Too many reincarnations in a single lifetime to trust this one.

Rumpydog

Dog paddling through life...

